Bonaire Travel, Hotels & Lodging Guide

Bonaire Entry Requirements

Tourist entry is generally only for 14 days, but 30 days may be given.
Extensions are available at immigration. EU passport holders may stay for up to 120 days, but must get an extension first from immigration. Tourists who apply for an extension beyond the 30 days must have travel insurance (medical & liability) for the duration of their extended stay.

Entry Requirements - Passport validity
You must hold a valid passport to enter Bonaire. Your passport must be valid for a minimum period of six months from the date of entry into Bonaire.
For further information on exactly what will be required at immigration please contact the Dutch Embassy or Consulate in your country.

Visas for the Caribbean parts of the Kingdom of the Netherlands
As of 10 October 2010 it is possible to visit more than one Caribbean part of the Kingdom of the Netherlands using a single visa. The visa is valid for all parts of the Kingdom of the Netherlands in the Caribbean for a visit as a tourist or for a short stay in the countries Aruba, Curaçao and St Maarten and for the Dutch Caribbean islands Bonaire, St Eustatius and Saba.

Visa exemption categories (Caribbean region)
The following categories are exempted from the visa requirement:
  • holders of a valid residence permit for the United States, Canada, the Schengen Area, the United Kingdom, Ireland or Switzerland;
  • holders of a valid residence permit for the French part of St Maarten;
  • holders of a valid residence permit for one of the countries or public bodies (Bonaire, St Eustatius and Saba) of the Kingdom of the Netherlands in the Caribbean;
Nationals of the countries listed below do not require a visa for the Caribbean part of the Kingdom of the Netherlands (the countries Aruba, Curaçao and Sint Maarten and the Dutch public bodies Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba).
  • Andorra
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Argentina
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Belgium
  • Belize
  • Brazil
  • Brunei
  • Bulgaria
  • Canada
  • Chile
  • Costa Rica
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Dominica
  • Ecuador
  • El Salvador
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Grenada
  • Greece
  • Guatemala
  • Guyana (visa IS required for St Maarten)
  • Honduras
  • Hong Kong: holders of British National Overseas passports
  • Hong Kong: holders of Special Administrative Region passports
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Jamaica (visa IS required for Aruba and for St Maarten)
  • Japan
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Macao: holders of Special Administrative Region passports
  • Malaysia
  • Malta
  • Mauritius
  • Mexico
  • Monaco
  • New Zealand
  • Nicaragua
  • Norway
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • San Marino
  • Seychelles
  • Singapore
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • South Korea
  • Spain
  • St Kitts and Nevis
  • St Lucia
  • St Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Suriname
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Taiwan
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • United Kingdom
  • United States of America
  • Uruguay
  • Vatican City
  • Venezuela


Some notes:
  • The visa requirement applies to all children, regardless of age. They must have their own visa sticker, which means that they must have their own passport. Fees do not need to be paid for visa applications for children under the age of six.
  • Even if married to a Dutch national, an alien whose nationality requires him or her to have a visa is still required to apply for a visa and pay the visa application fee.
More information can be found at:

Copyright © 2024 WorldWide TravelGuide b.v., The Netherlands. Operator of the Original Bonaire Travel, Vaction and Hotel Guide.